Tawi-Tawi town mayors express support to BOL

November 24, 2018
COTABATO CITY: In a manifesto, nine municipal mayors of the province of Tawi-Tawi express their support for the enactment of Bangsamoro Organic Law by a plebiscite on January 21, 2019 that will establish the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).
The manifesto was signed by the League of Municipalities Tawi-Tawi Chapter, the town mayors namely Yshmael Sali of Languyan, Limuel Que of Bongao, Cerbin Ahaja of Sitangkai, Nazif Ahmad Abdurahman of Simunul, Alshefa Pajiji of Sibutu, Mustapha Omar of South Ubian, Rahibma Salih of Tandubas, Alsaggab Mohammad Ali of Sapa-Sapa, and Benie Oliveros of Turtle Islands.
“We from the province of Tawi-Tawi and its corresponding local government units wish to express our full and unwavering support with the enactment of Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL),” the manifesto reads.
“We are looking forward that the upcoming plebiscite as part of the legal process where we can express our overwhelming yes votes so that the law can take its historical course.”
The town mayors said they believe the passage of the Bangsamoro law will surely correct the historical injustice and will bring about economic prosperity and spur development not only in the Bangsamoro autonomous region but in the whole country in general.
“We fully support the creation of Bangsamoro Transition Authority under the leadership of Chairman Alhaj Murad Ibrahim as Chief Minister to oversee the much-awaited change towards genuine autonomous and self-reliant Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao,” the manifesto stated.
The manifesto signatories further expressed their gratitude to President Rodrigo Duterte, the senators and congressmen as well as the stakeholders for their efforts, dedication, and fortitude to rewrite a better future for the Bangsamoro.
Tawi-Tawi is an island province located in the southernmost part of the Philippines. It is one of the provinces of the current Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.
Upon ratification of BOL by a majority “yes” vote in the plebiscite, the ARMM will be deemed abolished.
Sulu Governor Sakur Tan contested in the Supreme Court the constitutionality of the BOL.
The BOL is the legal translation of the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro, a peace deal signed by the Philippine Government and the MILF in 2014 after more than 17 years of peace talks. 
– Luwaran/RSP

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.